Crocodiles and Alligators

Family Crocodylidae
This family regroups all Crocodile species, including the Malayan Gharial.

Crocodylus intermedius – Orinoco crocodile
Crocodylus mindorensis – Philippine crocodile
Crocodylus moreletii – Morelet’s crocodile
Crocodylus niloticus cowiei – Nile crocodile
Crocodylus niloticus madagascariensis – Nile crocodile
Crocodylus novaeguineae – New Guinea Crocodile
Crocodylus palustris kimbula – Mugger crocodile
Crocodylus palustris palustris – Mugger crocodile
Crocodylus porosus – Saltwater crocodile
Crocodylus rhombifer – Cuban crocodile
Crocodylus siamensis – Siamese crocodile
Crocodylus suchus – West African crocodile
Mecistops cataphractus – West-African slender-snouted crocodile
Osteolaemus tetraspis tetraspis – West African dwarf crocodile
Tomistoma schlegelii – Malayan gharial

Family Alligatoridae
This family regroups the Alligators and Caimans.

Alligator mississippiensis – American alligator
Alligator sinensis – Chinese alligator
Caiman crocodilus crocodilus – Spectacled caiman
Caiman crocodilus fuscus – Spectacled caiman
Caiman latirostris – Broad-snouted caiman
Paleosuchus palpebrosus – Cuvier’s smooth-fronted caiman

Family Gavialidae
This monotypic family has been created for the Indian gharial.

Gavialis gangeticus – Indian gharial


Back to “Reptiles” page