Family Macropodidae
This family regroups all Kangaroos, Wallabies and related species.

Dendrolagus goodfellowi buergersi – Goodfellow’s tree kangaroo
Dendrolagus inustus – Grizzled tree kangaroo
Dendrolagus matschiei – Huon tree kangaroo
Dorcopsis hageni – White-striped forest wallaby
Dorcopsis muelleri – Brown forest-wallaby
Macropus fuliginosus – Western grey kangaroo
Macropus giganteus – Eastern grey kangaroo
Notamacropus agilis agilis – Agile wallaby
Notamacropus agilis papuanus – Papuan agile wallaby
Osphranter robustus erubescens – Common wallaroo
Osphranter robustus robustus – Common wallaroo
Osphranter rufus – Red kangaroo
Petrogale xanthopus xanthopus – Yellow-footed rock-wallaby

Family Potoroidae
This family regroups all Potoroos, Bettongs and related species.

Potorous tridactylus – Long-nosed potoroo

Family Phascolarctidae
This monotypic family has been created for the Koala.

Phascolarctos cinereus – Koala

Family Vombatidae
This family regroups all wombats.

Family Dasyuridae
This family regroups all carnivorous marsupial species.

Dasyurus viverrinus – Eastern quoll

Family Phalangeridae
This family regroups the Cuscuses, Brush-tailed possums and their relatives.

Spilocuscus maculatus – Common spotted cuscus

Family Petauridae
This family regroups all Sugar gliders and their relatives.

Dactylopsila trivirgata – Torresian striped possum
Petaurus breviceps breviceps – East Australian sugar glider
Petaurus breviceps papuanus – Papuan sugar glider

Family Acrobatidae
This family regroups the Feather-tailed gliders and their relatives.

Family Didelphidae
This family regroups all opossum species.

Chironectes minimus – Water opossum
Didelphis virginiana – Virginia opossum

Back to “Monotremes, Marsupials and Rodents” page